It was a bittersweet night at the 2018 Champions’ Banquet for GO Racing Promotions at the Wintergreen Resort in Wisconsin Dells. While we celebrated the accomplishments of the season just completed, we had to say difficult goodbyes to both the Great Northern Sportsman Series and the Midwest Dash Series. The Great Northern Sportsman Series reached its end after six seasons, and the Midwest Dash Series was moving on with new ownership in 2019.

After being served a delicious meal by the Wintergreen catering staff, LaCrosse Speedway promoter Chuck Deery presented his keynote speech on the state of racing and where it is heading in the future. After that, it was time to hand out hardware for a job well done in 2018.

Cody Clubb was the big winner on the night claiming three awards. He was third in the Mid-American Stock Car Series points for the season, captured the series Rookie of the Year title and was named co-winner of the Social Media Award. Fellow Illinois driver Ron Vandermeir, Jr. was honored at the Mid-American series champion, a year after he captured the Rookie of the Year honors. Jason Thoma was recognized as the final Great Northern Sportsman Series champion after being the first champion back in 2013. Thoma also was named the other co-winner of the Social Media Award. George Seliger, fresh off his win in the Chill Chaser Enduro on New Years’ Day at 141 Speedway, was also recognized for pulling off an unbelievable comeback to capture the Midwest Dash Series crown.

The night ended with Greg Oliver thanking the competitors in the Great Northern Sportsman Series for their six seasons of competition, and hoped Sportsmen racing would continue on at the area tracks. Oliver also thanked the Midwest Dash Series drivers for their service, and wished them the best under their new ownership. Watch for news on the 2019 Mid-American Stock Car Series schedule to be announced during the Midwest Motorsports Racers’ Expo in Oshkosh the weekend of February 1st.

2018 GO Racing Promotions Champions’ Banquet

Mid-American Stock Car Series Top Ten—Ron Vandermeir, Jr., James Swan, Cody Clubb, Bill Prietzel, Kenny Joosten, Andrew Meyerhofer, Bobby Gutknecht, Mark Brooner, Ryan Gutknecht, Lyle Nowak

Mid-American Rookie of the Year—Cody Clubb

Great Northern Sportsmen Series Top Five—Jason Thoma, Tyler Sauter, David Borntreger, Scott Luck, Andrew Meyerhofer

Midwest Dash Series Top Five—George Seliger, Brandon DeLacy, Josh Mazur, George Sparkman, Patrick Thicke

Extra Effort Award—Bobby Guktnecht (Fixing his racecar issues and still racing at Golden Sands Speedway)

Social Media Award—Cody Clubb Racing and Jason Thoma Racing