By:  Paul Reichert
June 14, 2019

Despite the threatening skies, the rain stayed away for the annual Fan Photo and Autograph Night at Tomah-Sparta Speedway.  The fans got to collect hero cards and a lot of free treats from the drivers.  Dan Frye collected his own treats tonight with a second straight TACU 6 Shooters feature win and another $100 bonus from the fine folks at TACU.

Dustin McCracken quickly drove to the early lead in the TACU 6 Shooters feature.  McCracken tried to build his advantage, but Dan Frye was slicing and dicing his way through the field.  Frye closed down on McCracken and began applying the pressure.  McCracken ran wide out of turn two and tagged the back stretch wall.  That opened the door for Frye to take command of the race.  Frye would drive away from the field to capture his second straight feature win.  Clayton Haessig got by McCracken on the last lap for second.

Larry DeVito took the lead at the start of the Modified feature, but would get gobbled up by both Nick Quinnell and Brad Wildes.  Both would get into a tight battle for the lead, just like they did on opening night.  Fast qualifier Denny Schott was on the move through the field.  After a mid-race caution for a Rick DeVito spin, Schott quickly got by Quinnell on the restart.  Schott would go unchallenged the rest of the way to claim the win and the clean sweep in the division.

Jake Schiller and David Borntrager battled back and forth throughout the Sportsmen feature.  Schiller took the lead on lap four, and had to battle with Borntrager just after halfway in the race.  Borntrager found his opening on the inside of Schiller on lap 11 down the back stretch.  Borntrager left Schiller in his dust and claimed the checkered flag first.

Raymond Hardy took the lead three laps into the Hobby Stock feature, but he had to contend once again with Andy Moore.  Hardy stuck to the inside lane, leaving Moore with the outside.  Moore tried to get alongside of Hardy over the final two laps, but Hardy ended Moore’s ‘dynasty’ and got the ring the victory bell for the first time this season.

In the Hornet feature, Andy Barney assumed command of the race quickly.  Barney would lead much of the race, but former Mid-American Stock Car Series driver Taylor Dawson was charging his way to the front.  The two made contact in turn four on lap 11.  Dawson took over the lead, then had to survive two late race cautions to score the victory.

In the Mini Stock feature, Jefferson regular James Bohling led the opening four circuits.  Charging his way to the front and looking for the lead was 2018 track champion Patrick Thicke.  Thicke got around Bohling on the outside on lap five and never looked back to wind up in TACU Victory Lane.

After taking next Friday off for the annual tractor pull, action resumes on Friday, June 28 with the Mid-Season Championships. The Modifieds, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets, Six Shooters and Mini Stocks will all be back in action.  The American Super Cup Series will make their annual visit, plus get ready to “OOH” and ‘AAH” during the post-race fireworks.  Gates open at 4:00, qualifying begins at 6:00 and racing action starts at 7:30.

For more information about Tomah-Sparta Speedway or the 2019 schedule of events, call the office at 608-451-1920 or visit

Feature:  1. Denny Schott, 2. Paul Brown, 3. Brad Wildes, 4. Nick Quinnell, 5. Larry DeVito
Heat:  1. Schott, 2. L. DeVito, 3. Wildes
Qualifying:  1. Schott, 2. Wildes, 3. Brown

Feature:  1. David Borntrager, 2. Jake Schiller, 3. Troy Dobbratz, 4. Lonnie Wood, Sr.
Heat:  1. Schiller, 2. Borntrager, 3. Dobbratz
Qualifying:  1. Borntrager, 2. Schiller, 3. Dobbratz

Hobby Stocks
Feature:  1. Raymond Hardy, 2. Andy Moore, 3. Alex Rud, 4. Al Bartels, 5. Lonnie Wood, Jr.
Heat:  1. Hardy, 2. Andy Moore, 3. Bartels
Qualifying:  1. Hardy, 2. Andy Moore, 3. Bartels

Feature:  1. Taylor Dawson, 2. Jazzlynne Myer, 3. James Rittenhouse, 4. Ronnie Foster, 5. Jordan Finch
Heat 1:  1. Andy Barney, 2. Foster, 3. J. Finch
Heat 2:  1. Dawson, 2. Rittenhouse, 3. Danny Frye
Qualifying:  1. Dawson, 2. Myer, 3. Danny Frye

TACU Six Shooters
Feature:  1. Dan Frye, 2. Clayton Haessig, 3. Dustin McCracken, 4. Cameron Riggs, 5. Tim Murphy
Heat 1:  1. Muprhy, 2. Riggs, 3. McCracken
Heat 2:  1. Haessig, 2. Tristan Drazkowski, 3. Jestin Delap, Sr.
Qualifying:  1. Frye, 2. T. Drazkowski, 3. Haessig

Mini Stocks
Feature:  1. Patrick Thicke, 2. James Bohling, 3. Paul Finch, 4. Donovan Hawes
Heat:  1. Thicke, 2. P. Finch, 3. Bohling
Qualifying:  1. Thicke, 2. P. Finch, 3. Bohling