By: Paul Reichert
May 3, 2019

A beautiful night welcomed race fans back to the Tomah-Sparta Speedway, as we kicked off year number two under the guidance of Greg Oliver. A tradition made famous at the old Minnesota State Fair Speedway has been started here at Tomah-Sparta with the introduction of the victory bell in TACU Victory Lane. The first feature winners of the new season got the first honor on ringing it after some exciting features to start the season.

The Hobby Stocks had the first feature of the season. Andy Moore quickly took the lead, but he would be pressured all race long by veteran Raymond Hardy. Back in action for the first time in seven years, Hardy stayed glued to Moore’s bumper the whole way. Hardy even got side-by-side with Moore a couple times, but Moore repelled his challenges to capture the win. Not only did Moore score a clean sweep, he would be the first feature winner to sound the victory bell.

Dells Raceway Park regular Logan Delaney made his first trip to Tomah-Sparta a huge success as he scored a clean sweep in the Hornet division. He set fast time. He won his heat race. In the feature, Delaney got around Kendon Thurk on lap six and drove away to a comfortable win. The Mini Stocks ran with the Hornets, and Paul Finch made things interesting for Delaney in the final couple of laps. Finch would wind up in victory lane winning as the top Mini Stock in the feature.

The TACU Six Shooters feature saw Dustin McCracken drive off to a big lead over the first eleven laps. 2018 champion Matt Moore made his way through the pack to catch McCracken and get around him with four laps to go. Moore started the 2019 season the same way he ended 2018, in victory lane.

The Modified feature would be a see-saw battle all race long between fast qualifer Brad Wildes and Nick Quinnell. They battled side-by-side throughout the final feature of the night. Both drivers would swap the lead four different times. Eventually, Quinnell would charge by Wildes down the back straight with five laps to go and drive away with the win. Mahlon Borntrager’s Sportsmen ran with the Modifieds, and he would be the top finishing Sportsmen in the feature.

Action continues next Friday, May 10 with the Modifieds, Sportsmen, Hobby Stocks, Hornets, 6 Shooters and Mini Stocks. The Chaos division will kick off their 2019 season with the 2nd Over the Line Wins race. Gates open at 4:00, qualifying starts at 6:00, and racing action begins at 7:30.

For more information about Tomah-Sparta Speedway or the 2019 schedule of events, please call the office at 608-461-1920 or visit

Feature: 1 Nick Quinnell, 2. Brad Wildes, 3. Mahlon Borntrager (Sportsmen), 4. Kevin Seidler, 5. Rick DeVito
Heat: 1. Derrin Salo, 2. Quinnell, 3. Borntrager
Qualifying: 1. Wildes
Sportsmen Qualifying: 1. Borntrager

Hobby Stocks
Feature: 1. Andy Moore, 2. Raymond Hardy, 3. Alex Rud, 4. Lonnie Wood, Jr.
Heat: 1. Moore, 2. Hardy, 3. Rud
Qualifying: 1. Moore

Feature: 1. Logan Delaney, 2. Paul Finch (Mini Stock), 3. Rob Schliefer, 4. Rob Stanfield, 5. Scott Mahlum
Heat 1: 1. Kendon Thurk, 2. Schliefer, 3. Stanfield
Heat 2: 1. Delaney, 2. John Huebner, 3. Mahlum
Qualifying: 1. Delaney

Mini Stocks
Heat: 1. Paul Finch, 2. Wayne Maulsby, 3. Donovan Hawes
Qualifying: 1. Maulsby

TACU Six Shooters
Feature: 1. Matt Moore, 2. Dustin McCracken, 3. Tristan Drazkowski, 4. Dan Frye, 5. Tim Murphy
Heat 1: 1. Drazkowski, 2. Moore, 3. Zach Liebsch
Heat 2: 1. Frye, 2. McCracken, 3. Murphy
Qualifying: 1. Moore